The National Curriculum applies to pupils of compulsory school age in maintained schools. It is organised on the basis of four key stages.

  • Key Stage 1: Ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)
  • Key Stage 2: Ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)
  • Key Stage 3: Ages 11-14 (Years 7-9)
  • Key Stage 4: Ages 14-16 (Years 10-11).

For each subject and for each key stage, programmes of study set out what pupils should be taught, and attainment targets set out the expected standards of pupils’ performance. It is for schools to choose how they organise their school curriculum to include the programmes of study.

Curriculum Information

For information regarding the curriculum at Reedings please see our school curriculum leaflets. For information on the curriculum for individual year groups, please follow the links on the menu.

For further information on the curriculum we follow, please see the guidance on the National Curriculum web pages below.

Sports and Extra Curricular

At Reedings we believe in giving your child a well-rounded education, providing a variety of experiences and opportunities. Children take part in school trips related to class learning and participate in workshops to bring topics to life. We also believe in active lunchtimes where our children enjoy the freedom of our beautiful grounds. Older children support others by acting as play leaders and buddies.

At Reedings, staff are committed to providing a variety of clubs for all year groups either at lunchtime or after school. Children are invited to sign up for their choice of clubs each term. Our PE curriculum is supported by All for Sport who also run after school clubs during the school term.

We are passionate about sport and our pupils are renowned for their good sportsmanship. We take part in competitive sporting events across our school partnership group as well as in the local borough. For example, we participate in local football and netball leagues. We also compete in Hockey, Tennis, Netball, Football, Cricket, Tag Rugby, Tri Golf and Cross Country festivals.